RSS

#3in30 August goals – Week 2 update

13 Aug

This week has been incredibly hectic for me.  Monday I was off work for a dental appointment and Friday I was off so I could help chaperone Andy’s orchestra camp field trip.  So work was hectic cramming 5 days of things into 3, including the effort of scheduling 80+ people for software testing.  I love my job though and I’m so glad God put me in a position where my skills are both useful and appreciated.

Home has been just as hectic though, but it too has been productive.

My last July goal – to purge the boys’ unused clothing – is complete.  To the best of my knowledge anyway. I admit that I have not entered their rooms to actually confirm that only the things they routinely wear remain.  That will be projects for another month. šŸ˜‰  But I dropped off 2 bags of clothing in the donation box on my way home from the grocery store tonight with a sense of satisfaction.

My 2nd August goal – to finish my Good Morning Girls book study – is also complete.   I’m still about 6 weeks behind on SOAP scriptures, but I’m going to make it a priority to do one scripture every night before bed until I’m done.  My goal though was to actually finish the book, and with 8 chapters to go, I spent the majority of my evening doing just that.  I’m not going to blog on the last 2 topics – Training and Service – because the answers to the study questions are ones that are more introspective to me and require thought and prayer. Maybe someday you’ll get to read my answers.  I do want to share with you though my favorite quote from what I read today:

Sin in our lives makes us resist responsibility. (The Ministry of Motherhood by Sally Clarkson, p. 191)

I can’t explain why this one little sentence resonates so deeply with me, but it does. My own conviction perhaps?

Goal #3 – Refocus myself to #hellomornings and getting up early enough for exercise and quiet time.  Only 2 days this week did I actually get up at 5am and exercise, but I did work in a 20-minute Zumba session this morning before I had to get ready for breakfast with our friends.  I whined a little bit Friday to my online friends about not having enough time for everything, but I think I’ve figured it out since then.  

If I actually get up at 5am, I have 45 minutes to myself before Alex’s alarm goes off. That’s plenty of time as long as I get myself into a regular morning and evening routine and get to bed on time.  Keep praying for me my friends. LOL
I did decide I’m going to do Good Morning Girls’ Fall Bible Study on 1 John.  It’s SOAP format and I’m going to keep up with it a journal rather than online.  My mornings will be much smoother if I keep exercise short and QT simple. Trying to fit time for actual #B90Days reading into my morning is too stressful, and often leaves me feeling slightly resentful that my time is not my own. So my bible reading needs to remain something that I do in spare moments throughout my day and finish up with at night.  Lately I’ve taken to reading in bed until I fall asleep and I love it.  It’s such a wonderful way to end my day.

However, I’m happy to say that I’m holding steady with the #B90Days reading.  I did fall a little behind earlier in the week when I was just so mentally exhausted from work I couldn’t comprehend what I was reading.  But I made the most of my off-time Thursday night and Friday and on this lazy Saturday, and caught up. Tomorrow’s reading is Day 35 and the start of Nehemiah. I think it also makes us about 40% complete.

On that note, I’m calling it a night my friends.  Even though all I’ve done is read all day, I’m tired.   Have a great night a blessed Sunday!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 13, 2011 in Blogging, Faith

 

Tags: , ,

your comments here: