RSS

His Divine Power at Work

02 Sep

Key Scripture: 2 Peter 1:3–8

As we know Jesus better, his divine power gives us everything we need for living a godly life. He has called us to receive his own glory and goodness! And by that same mighty power, he has given us all of his rich and wonderful promises. He has promised that you will escape the decadence all around you caused by evil desires and that you will share in his divine nature.

So make every effort to apply the benefits of these promises to your life. Then your faith will produce a life of moral excellence. A life of moral excellence leads to knowing God better. Knowing God leads to self-control. Self-control leads to patient endurance, and patient endurance leads to godliness. Godliness leads to love for other Christians, and finally you will grow to have genuine love for everyone. The more you grow like this, the more you will become productive and useful in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Mom’s Reflection

Did you ever turn on your blow dryer and nothing happened? When you followed the cord to its end, you realized that someone had unplugged it! Trying to use a blow dryer without electrical power is like trying to live a godly life without God’s power. Peter assures us that as we get to know Jesus better, His divine power will give us everything we need for godly living. Isn’t it wonderful to know He will provide what it takes to live each day in a godly way?

We do have a part, however. We can’t just sit back and ignore our responsibility, saying, “Oh well, God’s power will do it all.” Peter is clear: God gives us His power, but we are responsible for applying it personally in our own lives. The end result? Lives that are positive and productive, useful and godly. I want that kind of life—and I want that kind of life for my kids. Don’t you? Let’s take the first step by drawing closer to Jesus and determining to know Him better with each passing day.

My Prayer

“Loving and powerful heavenly Father, I praise You, for Your divine power gives me everything I need to live a godly life. Thank You for calling me to receive Your own glory and goodness. Thank You for giving me Your rich and wonderful promises. Let Your light shine through me! Help me to live a productive and useful life according to Your Word. Help me to know You better, and help me to teach my kids to know You better, too. In Jesus’ Name I pray, amen.”

This week I’m praying for: ____________________

My Choices

  • This week I will choose to draw closer to God and seek to know Him better.
  • This week I will choose to recognize God’s divine power at work in my life.
  • This week I will choose to apply God’s power personally, so that I might become a more godly woman and mom.
  • This week I will choose to: ____________________

For Further Reading: 2 Peter

What God requires of us, He himself works in us, or it is not done.
—Matthew Henry

 

This e-newsletter is a supplement to Women’s Ministries—Unlimited!, ministry to women of the Assemblies of God.

Feel free to forward this newsletter to a friend. If you received it from a friend and would like to subscribe, visit our subscription page.

© 2008 National Women’s Ministries Department

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2008 in Faith

 

your comments here:

 
