RSS

Going traditional

20 Aug

After a lot of research, discussion, and prayer, Hubby and I have decided that we will begin transitioning our family to a fully traditionally prepared diet.  Meaning cultured dairy products, fermented veggies, soaked and sprouted grains, and *gasp* even raw milk if I can actually find cow’s milk down here.

I laughed as we were talking about it last night. Who would have thought I, of all people, would turn into a crunchy momma?  But I have and there is a peace to our decision that I’ve never had before. 🙂

Today, for the first time ever, I made a sourdough starter. I followed the directions from Kitchen Stewardship’s post on sourdough starters, except I stirred the flour and water together. Katie didn’t say whether to do this or not, but I figured it didn’t hurt and the worst it could do is ruin it and I make another batch.  I’m hoping it turns out because I’d really like to try other sourdough recipes! I think first up will be the sourdough crackers b/c the kids need something to snack on with their lunches.

Sourdough starter day 1: 9am 8.20.11

My guys aren’t found of sourdough bread (although I love it) but Manny agrees with me that the health benefits are more important and they’ll learn to like it. My concession is that there are plenty of other foods I have to learn to like, and a lot more that none of us have ever tried.  Would you believe I actually ate green onions on cheese fries last night?  Willingly???  I can’t say I liked them, but they weren’t all that bad.

Another thing I started this morning is my kefired water.  I really hope this turns out well. I have lots of plans for it, and I’m still on the hunt for a natural cola recipe.

Water kefir day 1: 9am 8.20.11

Of additional note, and my bestie Eryn will be so happy with me, I bought some unrefined coconut oil yesterday.  I haven’t figured out what I’m going to make with it yet though.  {Of interesting note, it’s so warm in my kitchen the oil liquefied within 30 minutes of adding it to my pantry. I hope that works in favor for my fermenting and not against it.}

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2011 in Food & Fitness

 

3 responses to “Going traditional

  1. A Little R&R

    August 20, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Wow – this is a big undertaking, but there is a lot to be said for naturally cultured dairy products! My husband works at a dairy plant (one that serves all of the former Yugoslavia) and he really swears by natural yogurts and Kefir. Kefir is something that is eaten a lot over here, given the historic Turkish influence, I guess. Also, they have a yogurt drink that is part plain yogurt and part milk. We drink a lot of that here – my son LOVES it. They also sell a lot of acidophilus yogurts and vitamin-enriched yogurts because they really do help with digestion and boosting your immune system. I hope you blog more about this – I'd love to get some ideas. 🙂 Enjoy!!!

     
  2. Meredith

    August 21, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    I agree… would love to hear more about this.And if the sourdough starter works out, will pass along the tips and recipe?

     
  3. exemployee

    August 27, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    A must have if you are going all natural…Stevia. To replace sugar and it has zero, count them, zero carbs. I like the bottled Stevia; I get it from Hi Health. I grow my own plant, but I couldn’t get the boiled leaves to taste sugary when it cooled down. I’m going to try it again and this time chop the leaves up first to see if the sweetness is “inside” the leaves!

    Good luck to you!

     

your comments here:

 
