RSS

Spicy Chicken and Rice Soup

07 Sep
Spicy Chicken and Rice Soup
Saturday found me in the kitchen with a bag of chicken breasts that was supposed to go with the brown rice I’d made a few mornings prior, but nothing was ever done with it. It had reached the point where I had to cook it or toss it, so I boiled it. I figured sooner or later I’d figure out what to do with it.
Last night I decided soup would be a nice change. (I’m really trying to incorporate more soup into our meals but my guys are resistant b/c it’s a “cold weather food” to them.)  I found this lovely chicken & rice soup recipe that sounded very yummy.  But apparently I don’t follow directions very well, because I had neither thyme nor bay leaf, nor did I have celery.  So I started grabbing what I did have on hand and, well, the recipe below is what I ended up.
Note: this recipe is actually modified to be made in a crock pot rather than on the stove top, simply because I’m too impatient to wait an hour for the broth to simmer down and thicken.  In the future, I can start the soup in the morning and let Alex make cornbread muffins before I get home.

Spicy Chicken & Rice Soup and Cornbread Muffins

Can I also say how nice it was to have my table back in my chicken just in time for tonight’s dinner?

Spicy Chicken and Rice Soup
3 tablespoons virgin coconut oil (or olive oil)
1/2 medium onion, diced
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 bell pepper, diced
1/2 cup salsa
1/2 tablespoon Italian seasoning
16 oz baby carrots, quartered
16 oz green beans, frozen
3 quarts chicken stock/broth
1 1/2 cups soaked brown rice (3 cups cooked)
5-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (2-3 cups cooked and chopped
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
Saute onion, garlic, bell pepper until soft and transfer to crock pot with salsa, Italian seasoning, carrots, chicken stock, rice, and chicken breasts.

Cook on medium 4-6 hours or until chicken is thoroughly cooked and rice is tender. Add frozen green beans 15-30 minutes prior to serving. Serve hot, seasoned with salt and pepper to taste.

Goes great with cornbread and a salad!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 7, 2011 in Food & Fitness

 

Tags:

One response to “Spicy Chicken and Rice Soup

your comments here:

 
