RSS

3 in 30 ~ October goals

02 Oct
3 in 30 ~ October goals

Let’s do a quick September recap and wrap-up before we move on to October.

{Full details on my September goals here.}

Goal #1 – Clean up my Google Reader account {blogging}

My reader is still clean, and now I just have to remember to go check it for anything that I don’t already get via email, Facebook, or twitter.  It doesn’t get checked often. 😉

Goal #2 – Clean up my favorites/bookmarks {blogging}

It’s so much easier to find what I’m looking for, but I’m seeing a need for a 3rd level of subfolders, especially to split out my baking and desserts recipes, and I should probably go ahead and split out the entrees and sides folders while I’m at it.

Goal #3 – Get started on meal planning {meal planning/homemaking}

Week 1 went well, weeks 2-4 not so much. But they did show us the benefit of and need for menu planning.

This week one of the local stores (that I don’t normally shop at) has a great sale on chicken, so I picked up 8 lbs of boneless, skinless breasts and 3 whole roasters.  I also stocked up on a variety of dry beans, brown rice, eggs, and root veggies.  I told Manny last night that I don’t feel like I really bought food, but I know it’s because everything I did get requires planning and cooking. It’s a shocker, I know. 😉

At this moment, there is squash baking for lunch, and I’ll put chicken in the crock pot later for dinner. Since I can simmer that down overnight for stock, tomorrow’s dinner will most likely be soup of some sort.

On to October…

I’ve really had to think about my October goals. I’ve gotten a lot accomplished, and there’s still more I want to do now that I’m getting the hang of this thing.

Goal #1 – Clean up the bookcase {homemaking}

My bookcase is atrocious, as depicted in the photo below. The other 2.5 shelves you can’t see are just as bad. Books, Bibles, DVDs, VHS tapes, and video games are crammed 2 layers deep and then stacked upwards until nothing else will fit. Except bracelets and glasses b/c apparently that’s where Andy thinks his stuff goes.

Please forgive the blurriness. I think my phone was too close.

A friend has promised us a second bookcase, but first I have to dispose of an electric organ that is taking up space in the only other corner available.  Ultimately we’ll have books in one case and TV/video things in the other, and an itemized listing of what we have.  I hate having to search through everything to see if I have this movie or that book, and picking up something on a whim is not an option when you don’t know what you need.

Goal #2 – Get back into an exercise routine {physical/health/spiritual}

I’ve been a complete slacker this past month about exercising, and if it wasn’t for all the time I spend running around at work I’d have gotten no exercise at all.  I have plenty of things at my disposable, I just chose to be lazy and not make use of them.

This month my goal is for 3 days of cardio, 3 days of strength training, and 1 day of rest.  I used to do this before, so I know I can do it again.

I’m also going to find my copy of Made to Crave and start reading it again. It’s such a wonderful book, and provides the proper mind-set that I need now.

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and that you are not your own? For you have been bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body. — 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

I know that scripture itself is in reference to immoral behavior, but God has spent the past few years showing me that my body is still His temple and I’m not taking care of His temple.  I can’t honestly say I’m walking in the Lord’s will for my life when I’m disregarding His commands that I take care of my body.

Goal #3 – Prayer Journal {spiritual}

My prayer habits is another area where the Holy Spirit is really convicting me, and I know I need to do better.  Last week in my 1 John bible study He really showed me how much we need {and He desires} to go to Him daily in prayer, and my short-but-intentional prayer requests for others isn’t cutting it.

I have a small notebook that made of crushed limestone paper that I’ll be using for my prayer journal. The notebook fits easily into my purse, and there’s something about the thought of writing prayer requests on stone that speaks heavily to my heart.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2011 in Blogging, Faith, Food & Fitness

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “3 in 30 ~ October goals

  1. Jenni

    October 2, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    Great goals! I SO need to get back to exercising again. It’s just so difficult with a baby that likes to be held all the time. lol We do like to go on walks though… Good luck this month! 🙂

     
  2. Melanie

    October 5, 2011 at 10:55 am

    I know what you mean about exercising. I’ve never been an athlete in any sense of the word–I’m too uncoordinated for most sports. And when I say “uncoordinated”, I really mean “so clumsy that I fall off the elliptical.” That has been my excuse for years. I feel like I need to do something and will occasionally get motivated enough to get started, only to have some random, unlikely event stop me cold. Once I regroup from whatever has stopped me, the motivation has slipped away. I have Made to Crave beside my bed and have never started reading it. Maybe I will dig in and get my motivation back. Thanks for sharing your goals!

     

your comments here:

 
