RSS

Hello 2012!

01 Jan

I decided to play along and pick my one word for 2012: understanding.  

Understanding ADD and the impact it has on me, my kids, my marriage, and my friendships. What I’ve learned so far makes explains so much about myself and I can’t wait to dig deeper.

Understanding the intricacies of new job responsibilities, responsibilities that I think I want to take on permanently.

Understanding where I’m at my spiritual walk and how my Heavenly Father wants me to move forward.

Understanding social media and savvy blogging and how to make it work for me. Who knows, I might even manage to blog something that isn’t 3in30 related.  😉

One of the things I’ve already come to understand about my ADD is that I work best in short bursts. That’s why 3in30 worked so well for me last year, when I made my goals small enough to be attainable and not so broad that they only left me overwhelmed.

I’m already participating in several challenges this month and don’t want to overload myself again like I did last year. 31 Days to Pray for Your Spouse started today, and both Hello Mornings and Bible in 90 Days start January 16th.  I chose not to lead or host any of the challenges now, to gain better focus ~ and understanding! ~ of whatever it is the Lord has planned for me.

With that in mind, I spent a lot of time debating over what I wanted for my first month’s goals.  It was never a question that I wouldn’t have them, as I’m learning that small goals and projects are what help keep me focused.   I decided not to include spiritual goals this year, as that should be my number one priority day.  I also decided not to include the things that fall into one of the other challenges as that just seems to be counterproductive.

So here are my goals for January 2012.

1. Recipe binders. I have 2 binders already filled with sheet protectors and dividers, I just need to collect all the loose paper copies, sort them, and insert them into the binders.

  • Week 1: Gather recipes. There’s no telling where all I have them stacked at.

2. Start 5K training.  Our high school is having a 5K fundraiser for our graduating class on March 3. That gives me 9 weeks to complete an 8 week program. M-W-F will my training days and I know I can do this.

  • Week 1: Charge the iPod, leash the dog and run. No excuses!

3. Organize my kitchen.  We added new furniture and new appliances to an already messy and chaotic kitchen. It drives me crazy to work in there when I can’t find what I need.  So I’m going to clean it up and clean it out and retrain my kids to keep it that way.

  • Week 1: Spice shelf; it’s what bugs me the most
 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2012 in Blogging, Faith, Food & Fitness

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Hello 2012!

  1. Deanna

    January 1, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    Great goals! I did the Couch to 5K training last year and it was awesome! Good luck!

     
    • Bobbey M

      January 2, 2012 at 12:14 pm

      Thanks! I’ve tried the ‘official’ C25K several times last year and I’ve tried The Fitness Cheerleader’s C25K and never been successful with either plan. Something about how they expect me to be able to run half the time on the first day when I don’t run to start with. This time I’m using SparkPeople’s version since week 1 is to walk 4 minutes, run 1 minute, for 20 minutes total. By week 8, it has you walking 1 minute and running 4 minutes for 40 minutes total. Seems to make way more sense and I think it’ll work for me.

       
  2. Lisa

    January 1, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    You have a great list of goals for this month, and I love the fact that you marked out something specific to work on for the week! I wish you the best!

     
  3. Tammy Skipper (@Tammy_Skipper)

    January 1, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    I LOVE that you included your week 1 challenges with your goals. I am putting my first 3in30 post up today, looking forward to using this to be held accountable during the weekly, monthly aspects of reaching longer term goals. Best wishes on your endeavors!

     
    • Bobbey M

      January 2, 2012 at 12:10 pm

      Thanks Tammy. The weekly task is something new I started to accommodate the ADD. I’m hoping that if I give myself 1 specific thing to focus on each week, it’ll split the larger goal up and not seem so overwhelming. I mean, if you only saw my kitchen… LOL

       
  4. aurie

    January 1, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    great goals – very attainable 🙂 you can do this!

     
    • Bobbey M

      January 2, 2012 at 12:08 pm

      Thanks Aurie! I hope to be tweeting updates so please call me out if you’re not seeing any. 😉

       
  5. Tami @ ThisMomsDelight.com

    January 2, 2012 at 11:25 am

    I told my kiddos I’d participate in the 5K run in June with them. I need to get started training. Any suggestions?

     
    • Bobbey M

      January 2, 2012 at 12:02 pm

      Tami, try one of the SparkPeople 5K training plans. They’re much less intense at the beginning and most only require you can walk 20-25 minutes continuously to start with. I’m doing the Rookie Running plan so I created my own playlists for each week. I picked songs that matched each time, or very close to it, and tried to pick something a little more upbeat for the jogging intervals. At least this way I know that I’ll have music I like to listen to and automatically know that when the next song starts it’s time for me to walk/run.

       

your comments here:

 
