RSS

Back to School

12 Aug
Back to School

Please excuse my blogging absence these past few months.

I’ve spent my summer immersed in curriculum options and self-designed teacher and student planners, and even more time in second-guessing my decisions.

Then I attended the THSC Homeschool Convention and while it was it was helpful, I left feeling even more uncertain of my choices. It took some good friends to help me see my choices from an outside perspective and look at the curriculum framework to realize that they weren’t bad and should work out just fine.  If they don’t, then we’ll tweak them as we go along. That’s the beauty of homeschooling.

While we homeschooled the spring semester of 8th grade, I didn’t really do any serious planning. I winged it to finish out what I felt Andy needed to know.  Knowing that his high school years were coming up and it was up to me to make sure classes were correctly and that he is ready for college put more self-pressure on me than I could easily handle.

It took me a while to realize that it’s okay for me to have an average student. It’s okay if we decide he needs a gap year, and maybe a year or two of community college first. Not every kid will be an AP math/science/history genius and that’s just the way the world is.  It helped to admit that to myself and it’ll mean I can focus on pushing Andy on some subjects and backing off on others.

We officially start on August 27, but he’s been working on finishing up Beginning Algebra over the summer.  I think we still have a way to go though. He’s had a friend visiting most week days and that means not much school work is actually getting done.

My planners are printed and ready to be bound next weekend, although I did think about changing them up again just yesterday.  I found this great form…  They’re always great forms, aren’t they?  LOL

My grading system is figured out, the grade book is set up, and the transcript template is mapped out with our 4-year plan.  I think I’m about as ready as I’m going to get for our first year of homeschooling high school.

Here’s what we’ll be doing in 9th grade:

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2012 in Homeschooling

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Back to School

  1. Honey

    August 12, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    I started home schooling my girls in high school, too. i’m sure you both will do a great job! i’ve been away from the internet the past three months, also. Hope you have a great school year!

     
  2. Bobbey M

    August 13, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement Honey!

     

your comments here:

 
