RSS

Early starts & intentional living

26 Aug
Early starts & intentional living

Isaiah 50:4
The Sovereign LORD has given me an instructed tongue, to know the word that sustains the weary. He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being taught.

Last Monday started the first week of the HelloMornings fall session.  The purpose of HelloMornings is to:

  1. Start your morning with time spent in God’s Word
  2. Intentionally plan your day
  3. Exercise your body

I usually participate, but this time I had decided I wasn’t going to blog about.  Let’s face it – anyone that has followed me or known me for any length of time knows that I might as well be famous for starting something and never finishing it.  I start with all good intentions, but life intervenes, time gets tight, and my good intentions fall to the wayside.  Often early morning starts are the first to go.

I’m determined this time will be different.

My current wake up time is 5:30, which I met 4/5 days last week.  It helped that I have to be up and ready to leave by 6:30 to drop Ashley off for work training before heading into work myself.

I realized I was heading in the right direction when I got up at 9 on Saturday and the first thing I did while waiting for my computer to load was pull down my bible study and notebook and get ready to read.  Then I realized that the 1 Peter study we’re doing is M-F.  🙂

Since I’m also trying to be more intentional about blogging, this is a good place to start, right?

Last week we started by looking at character traits of Peter.  Two things really stood out to me.

And Peter remembered the word which Jesus had said, “Before a rooster crows, you will deny Me three times.” And he went out and wept bitterly.   Matthew 26:75

The root words for “wept bitterly” tell us that Peter mourned his actions, lamented perhaps, with such grief as if for the dead.  Although Peter’s denials were probably out of fleshly instinct, maybe out of fear for what would happen if he admitted it.  But it’s upon the conscious realization of what he’s done, to be that despondent about his behavior, that Peter’s true character shines.

16 Therefore from now on we recognize no one [f] according to the flesh; even though we have known Christ [g]according to the flesh, yet now we know Him in this way no longer.17 Therefore if anyone is in Christ, [h]he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come. 18 Now all these things are from God, who reconciled us to Himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation19 namely, that God was in Christ reconciling the world to Himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and [i]He has [j]committed to us the word of reconciliation.   2 Corinthians 5:16-21

As often as the reconcile popped up in the day’s reading, I felt it needed to be looked up.   Reconciled = to change [transform] another through out.   Puts a whole new spin on the idea of being made new in Christ, doesn’t it?

HelloMornings

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 26, 2012 in Faith

 

Tags:

your comments here:

 
