RSS

Getting Intentional

21 Jan

meal-plan-icon

One of the goals I set for myself this year was to get intentional about our eating habits. We’ve become lax in eating out, in spur of the moment shopping trips, and in casualness of what we’re eating.  This year, we’re going back to the basics.  Our goal is to shop local, shop organic, shop sustainable, shop fresh.  Farmer’s Markets, co-ops, CSAs, grass-fed ranches.  They’re all around us when we make the time to source them out, do our research, and do the bulk of our shopping away from the grocery store.

This past weekend, DH and I visited a fruit/veggie co-op and a large Farmer’s Market in town. We liked what we saw, and I look forward to our future finds.   For the first real go-round though, we shopped local – as in two of our local grocery stores.  We stocked up on chicken (whole and boneless), ground Angus, organic grains and beans, fresh fruits, and frozen vegetables as dinner staples.  I bought almonds and rolled oats for granola, steel-cut oats for porridge, sliced meat and cheeses for quick sandwiches, and lots of eggs.

I spent time searching online recipes and my cookbooks looking for recipes that won’t need shopping trips for the extras.  I looked at each recipe carefully, asking myself how I could alter it to make it work with what we have.   I spent hours in the kitchen on Sunday afternoon mixing and cooking the ground beef into frozen meals. I realized that DH really doesn’t care what we eat or how I freeze the meat. He just wants to know what we’re having and when.  Then I spent more time searching recipes, sorting dinners, balancing meats and starches to avoid eating too much of one thing at a time while still accounting for leftovers.

Do you know what I’ve learned from all this?  Meal planning is hard work.

But I know it will be worth it.  It’ll reduce dinner time stress when I don’t get home until 6pm.  It’ll force me into the kitchen thawing or soaking. It’ll introduce us to new vegetables, new grains we wouldn’t normally eat. It’ll need me to always think ahead, be aware of what’s in season, what’s on sale.  It’ll be intentional.

Monday, Jan 21

  • Crock pot Roasted Chicken w/ potatoes
  • Mixed vegetables

Tuesday, Jan 22

  • Spaghetti w/ meatballs
  • Peas & Carrots
  • Garlic bread sticks

Wednesday, Jan 23

Thursday, Jan 24

Friday, Jan 25

  • Eggs & Tortillas

Saturday, Jan 26

  • Dinner out with friends to celebrate a birthday

Sunday, Jan 27

  • Sliders
  • Baked fries
  • Garden salad

Monday, Jan 28

  • Meatloaf
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Candied carrots

Tuesday, Jan 29

  • Baked chicken breast
  • Rice
  • Vegetables

Wednesday, Jan 30

Thursday, Jan 31

  • Breakfast for Dinner (bacon, eggs, refried beans)

Friday, Feb 1

  • Homemade pizza
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 21, 2013 in Food & Fitness, Homemaking

 

your comments here:

 
