RSS

Becoming bilingual

28 Jan
Becoming bilingual

Two weeks ago, the kid and I took our first ASL class.   The kid has been interested in sign language for a very long time but there’s only so much you can learn on your own.  So when I found out a local church was offering free classes, I signed us both up like the good mom that I am.  🙂

There are several other families from our homeschool group in the glass, so the kid and I both have friends we can sign with, and each other of course.

I have to admit that after the second class, I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed with it all, as if my head will explode.  There’s so much to learn and remember, and I move so much slower in my interpretation compared to the speed of the proficient instructors and helpers.  But I can say that after only two classes, we know enough signs to hold a simple conversation with someone that is deaf.

Our current vocabulary consists of:

Alphabet
Numbers 1-20
Hello/Hi
Good
Morning
“Good Morning”
Evening
“Good Evening”
My/Mine
Name
“My name (what?) <is> ”
Your
Good
See
You
“Good to see you”
Church
{name of the church our classes are at}
Day
Pretty/Beautiful
Cold
Hot
Fine
Bye
God
Jesus

What
Who
Where
“Location”
Copy-Me/You
Letter
Number
Same-As
Different
Again
Slow
Please
Thank You
You’re Welcome
Sorry

We have an open book test to take this week, and a reminder to practice, practice, practice.

It would be great to think that someday we’ll know enough to work as interpreters but that’s still far in the future.  Right now, I’m not even sure if I’ll ever have the need to use what I’m learning outside of signing back to the kid, but whatever is in store for us after we learn this, I’ll be ready.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 28, 2013 in Faith

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Becoming bilingual

your comments here:

 
